Marquee Sprint Tri!

It has to got be about 4 years since I have done a sprint tri. So here we go!  

Race check in complete! My mom came to check in with me then we headed to Deatination Kona for nutrition! All stocked up it was time to head home and rest up. 

Race morning Dave and I headed to Tempe town lake. We got there with plenty of time to spare so I found some space to myself and got ready.  One Multisport was all over greeting their team members and setting up their support tent!

Swim: always the scary part for me. Far right and just enough to get out of trouble and crazy people if I needed. Always dirty water in tempe town lake and always run into people’s feet because of it!  Nothing special on the swim. Just happy to get out! 

 

Bike: game plan was so go hard and keep pushing. 14 miles – I better be able to keep the pressure on and not give up! Push, pedal, inhale, exhale, your fine in zone 4….relax, push harder, focus, repeat. PR’ed the mph for a tri with just over 23mph. Thanks to the scottsdale hill repeats! Off the bike and onward to the run.  

 Run: Tentative at first due to hip issue. Ok feeling good after 1/4 mile, now push it, why the heck not! Just keep running people down and chipping away at the field. Sub 7’s. Push, quick leg turn over, stay on top of your feet, don’t let your posture get lazy…, it wasn’t until 2.8 miles that I felt my hip. Push it or give in. Well there is no thought of giving up. There are people in this world who have larger issues…keep going. I saw ONE Elite team member Lauren running and Teri cheering! So awesome to see supporting faces out there! 

Crossing the finish I spot Dave immediately!  Coughing and surprised by how awesome a sprint was and how quickly it went! Decisions happend 100x faster than ironman.  Regardless of the triathlon distance there are always 1000 decisions to make on race day and during the race. This is always exhausting but to know you have a great support team out there always pushes the motivation higher! 

ONE Multisport always has a tent on the course! We hung out for awards and cheered on others as they finished! Onto physical therapy and more races! Thanks to ONE Multisport, Pei Wei, Endurance Rehab, Destination Kona, LifeTime Fitness, and One Elite for getting me to the start of the 2015 Tri season!!!

  

  

 

  

Leave a comment