Pine Trees and Fresh Air 

Dueces Wild triathlon in Show Low was awesome!  ONE big showing, pine trees, fresh air and some altitude!  

Heading up after work on a Friday for and early morning race was not ideal but it worked out. Show Low never disappoints!

We had a ONE house filled with great team members! Race morning something felt odd on my bike but Dave wasn’t there to check so I went on my way. 

Swim was refreshingly chilly with extra tall weeds growing around turn one. Stopped to pull off weeds around my ankle twice. All I kept thinking was focus you’ll be out of the water quicker!

Onto the bike where my legs felt heavy for the first 8 miles. I had my nutrition from Destination Kona and tried to keep pedaling. My bike felt like it was all over the place and not sure why. It was a matter of staying calm and not getting frustrated at this point. I could barely hold and speed in my aero bars. Something didn’t seem right but there wasn’t time to stop and fix it. 

Running- about a half mile in I see Jon and Cyndi!  Ah thankful to see spectators I knew and that gave me an extra boost of confidence in my run. Trails, pavement, some up and downs. Just keep pushing. Out on the run it was great to see so many ONE Multisport people!  

I finished 1st in my age group and 7th overall female. Patience, confidence, and persistence were the theme of Dueces Wild!

Awards were fun as ONE Elite represented well!  

  
When I got home, Dave checked my bike and there were some parts that needed to be tightened on the bike. Well at least we got that cleared up! Lesson learned: Check your bike!

Special thanks to ONE Multisport, Teri for planning the weekend, destination  Kona for my nutrition, Pei Wei for my prerace lunch, Jon and Cyndi for their unending support of the Triathlon community and Dave!!

Leave a comment