Boise 70.3 – wind, sun, worlds!

Boise 70.3! It was an odd lead up to this race, minimal running, physical therapy, random bike issues, and long work days.  
Definately different than most other years! I had to rely on nutrition (thanks Dave!), muscle memory, built up endurance, positive attitude, awesome coaching (Karen Smyers), and a great PT (Karen at endurance rehab), ONE Elite team rides with the ladies, and a bit of hope. 

Boise was a quick 2 hour flight and an easy in and out. Dave and I made the trip and my brother in law Chris met us in Boise. 

Everything leading up to start time once in Boise was easy. Checkin, bike drop, dinner, sleep. 11 am wave start meant I could catch the late bus to the start. ONE team members were on the bus too! We found a nice spot in the shade and Teri and I anxiously waited. It was time to go…  

    

Swim: start wide. Wow I can’t sight because the waves are a little bit larger than I expected. Getting pulled and tossed around. This is a small body of water. What the heck is the problem. Wow I’ve been in this water to long. Ok just swim you can deal with how awful this is after the fact. 

T1: psyched to be out of the water. Thought I was in last. Saw Dave and tried to explain the swim and I wanted to just chat but I had a race to finish. 

   

Bike: Something still didn’t feel right on my bike. This was going to be a long 56 miles of wind, holding on tight, trying to breathe to stay calm, and a lot of choice words. I really must be in last now. Kept telling myself I could leave my bike in the box for weeks when im done but right now I had to keep pushing. 
   

T2: Took a moment to collect myself and get my head to a decent spot after 2 exhausting legs of a Tri with exhausted arms from holding on!

Run: Do what you do. Negative split this thing. run, run with more turn over, running and pretend someone is pushing you. It was hotand sunny the first 5 miles, I was sunburned, and I had no clue where in my age group I was. I started passing men on age groups that started well before me. I began to think maybe this isn’t going so poorly. Then reminded myself to not think about that. Every aid station: 1 water on me, drink 1 water, ice! I relied heavily on my past running experiences and confidence in my run. About 2 miles left of the run I passed 2 girls in my age group. 

40 minutes slower than planned – Crossing the finish line I sighed and saw Dave. “You were 6th before the run”. What?! No way. Well 4th it was at the end of the day. Podium! Dave and I looked at each other and laughed -we didn’t have to say it but we were both thinking- maybe Austria for worlds? 

Saw Teri at the end!
  
Dave and I got ready for awards and Chris went and got my bike!  

Awards was great! 2 spots in my age group— Maureen Needham– Dave and I looked at each other and I took the offer!  
 

  
   Austria 70.3 world championships. I got this!! A little revenge on the 70.3 worlds after a crash last year at them that had us in a hospital that night and healing for a few months.

Lessons learned:
Believe in yourself and have confidence in the decisions you make in training
Never let doubt play with your head during the race. Focus on the task at hand – you can criticize yourself after

Keep your core cool during hot conditions – ice!

Not every race is going to be fast. Remember everyone out there is performing in the same conditions so never give up. 

Just keep giving it whatever you can while you can 

Thanks to ONEMULTISPORT, oneelite, Dave, Karen Smyers, Karen S, Chris, pei wei, destination Kona, Jon & Cyndi Dean, and the awesome ONE Elite sponsors for getting me to and through Boise!

Now it’s time to get over the 70.3 exhaustion and get ready for our next adventure!

    

Leave a comment